Faculty

All UMR faculty are in the same academic unit: the Center for Learning Innovation (CLI).

The CLI promotes a learner-centered, technology-enhanced, concept-driven and community-integrated learning environment. Through ongoing assessment of student achievement, the CLI aspires to personalize education, establish research on learning and continuously improve curriculum. All of our faculty work together to prepare students for the exciting world of health care, in the way their research suggests is best.

Biochemistry

Cassidy TerrellCassidy Terrell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, CLI

Speciality: Biochemistry

Phone: 1 507 258 8051
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: terre031@r.umn.edu

Biology

Robert DunbarRobert Dunbar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, CLI

Speciality: Neuroscience

Phone: 1 507 258 8209
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: dunb0011@r.umn.edu

 

Micaela Haas

Micaela Haas, Biology M.S.
Teaching Specialist, CLI

Specialty: Biology

Phone: 507-258-8103
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: haasx258@r.umn.edu

Dave HainesDavid Haines, M.S.
Senior Teaching Specialist, CLI

Speciality: Biology

Phone: 1 507 258 8027
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: dshaines@r.umn.edu

Kelsey MetzgerKelsey Metzger, D.A.
Associate Professor, CLI

Speciality: Biology

Phone: 1 507 258 8214
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: kmetzger@umn.edu

Rachel Olson, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: Biology

Phone: 1 507 258 8104
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: olsonrl@r.umn.edu 

Andy PetzoldAndrew Petzold, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, CLI

Speciality: Biology

Phone: 1 507 258 8219
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: petzo002@umn.edu

Jennifer WollschlagerJennifer Wollschlager, M.S.
Senior Teaching Specialist, CLI

Speciality: Biology

Phone: 1 507 258 8235
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: jwollsch@umn.edu
 

Chemistry

Deepali Butani, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: Chemistry

Phone: 1 507 258 8101
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: dbutani@r.umn.edu

Tim DohertyTim Doherty, Ph.D.
Lecturer, CLI

Specialty: Chemistry

Phone: 507-258-8110
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: dohe0039@r.umn.edu

Josh MarellJosh Marell, Ph.D.
Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: Chemistry

Phone: 1 507 258 8207
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: mare0051@r.umn.edu

Michelle Nelson, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: Chemistry

Phone: 1 507 258 8233
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: mknelson@r.umn.edu

Xavier Prat-ResinaXavier Prat-Resina, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, CLI

Speciality: Chemistry

Phone: 1 507 258 8215
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: pratr001@umn.edu

 

Cassidy TerrellCassidy Terrell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, CLI

Speciality: Biochemistry

Phone: 1 507 258 8051
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: terre031@r.umn.edu

Dihua (Victoria) Xue
Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: Chemistry

Office: Paine
Phone: 507-258-8239
Fax: (507)-258-8066
dihuaxue@r.umn.edu

Civic Engagement

Angie MejiaAngie Mejia, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor, CLI

Specialty: Civic Engagement

Phone: 507-258-8024
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: amejiame@r.umn.edu

History

James Thomas Ford, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: History

Phone: 1 507 258 8032
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: jtford@umn.edu

Literature

Marcia NicholsMarcia Nichols, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, CLI

Speciality: Literature

Phone: 1 507 258 8213
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: mdnichol@umn.edu

Jennifer WacekJennifer Wacek, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: Literature

Phone: 1 507 258 8013
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: jawacek@umn.edu

Mathematics

Abraham AyeboAbraham Ayebo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, CLI

Specialty: Mathematics

Phone: 507-258-8216
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: aayebo@r.umn.edu

Christian BallamChristian Ballam, M.S.
Senior Teaching Specialist, CLI

Speciality: Mathematics

Phone: 1 507 258 8238
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: cgballam@r.umn.edu
 

Jered BrightJered Bright, M.S.
Senior Teaching Specialist, CLI

Speciality: Mathematics

Phone: 1 507 258 8105
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: brigh042@r.umn.edu

Sarah LanandSarah Lanand M.A.
Teaching Specialist, CLI

Speciality: Mathematics

Phone: 507-258-8236
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: pain0038@r.umn.edu

Philosophy

Aaron KostkoAaron Kostko, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, CLI

Speciality: Philosophy

Phone: 1 507 258 8211
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: atkostko@r.umn.edu

Brian MondyBrian Mondy, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: Philosophy
Phone: 1 507 258 8111
Fax: (507) 358-8066
Office: Paine
Email: bjmondy@r.umn.edu

Jake Wright, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: Philosophy
Phone: 1 507 258 8120
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: jwwright@r.umn.edu

Physics

Bijaya AryalBijaya Aryal, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, CLI

Speciality: Physics

Phone: 1 507 258 8216
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: baryal@umn.edu

Kyle McLellandKyle McLelland, M.S. 
Teaching Specialist, CLI

Specialty: Physics

Phone: 507-258-8221
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: mclellak@r.umn.edu

Psychology

Robert DunbarRobert Dunbar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, CLI

Speciality: Neuroscience

Phone: 1 507 258 8209
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: dunb0011@r.umn.edu

James WinchipJames Winchip, M.A.
Senior Teaching Specialist, CLI

Speciality: Psychology

Phone: 1 507 258 8237
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: jwinchip@r.umn.edu

Public Health

Jessie Barnett, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: Public Health

Phone: 1 507 258 8113
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: jbarnett@r.umn.edu

Kristin Osiecki, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, CLI

Speciality: Public Health

Phone: 1 507 258 8229
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: kosiecki@r.umn.edu

Sociology

Shanna AltrichterShanna Altrichter, M.A.
Senior Teaching Specialist, CLI

Speciality: Sociology

Phone: 1 507-258-8231
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: saltrich@r.umn.edu

Molly DingelMolly Dingel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, CLI

Speciality: Sociology

Phone: 1 507-258-8206
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: dinge016@umn.edu

Spanish

Teresa A. Henderson Vazquez, M.A.
Senior Teaching Specialist, CLI

Speciality: Spanish

Phone: 1 507 258 8232
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: hend0284@r.umn.edu

Writing

Aaron BruengerAaron Bruenger, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, CLI

Speciality: Writing

Phone: 1 507-258-8034
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: brue0067@umn.edu

Bronson LemerBronson Lemer, M.F.A.
Senior Teaching Specialist, CLI

Speciality: Writing

Phone: 1 507-258-8234
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: bjlemer@umn.edu

Yuko TaniguchiYuko Taniguchi, M.F.A.
Senior Teaching Specialist, CLI

Speciality: Writing

Phone: 1 507-258-8026
Fax: (507) 258-8066
Office: Paine
Email: tani0013@umn.edu

Molly Ubbesen
Assistant Professor, CLI

Speciality: Writing

Office: Paine
Phone: 507-258-8033
Fax: (507)-258-8066
mubbesen@r.umn.edu